The IB Education System

The International Baccalaureate (IB) education system offers 3 international programmes , each of which caters for a different age group. They are :

The IBPYP Curriculum

The IBMYP Curriculum

The IBMYP covers 8 groups of subjects: Language Acquisition, Language and Literature, Individuals and Societies, Sciences, Mathematics, Arts, Physical and Health Education, and Design. On average there are 50 hours of learning in all 8 categories every year.

The IBDP Curriculum

The IBDP covers 6 groups of subjects:

  • Group 1: Studies in language and literature
  • Group 2: Language acquisition
  • Group 3: Individuals and societies
  • Group 4: Sciences
  • Group 5: Mathematics
  • Group 6: The arts
  • IBDP Curriculum

    Students may choose 1 extra subject from groups 1-5 as a substitute for a group 6 subject so they don't have to work on all 6 subject groups.

    The highest score for each subject is 7 points and therefore the highest total score for six subjects is 42 points without the bonus points from the 3 core requirements.

    Join Now

    IBDP also requires students to finish the following 3 core requirements:

    • Extended Essay (EE)
    • Theory of Knowledge (TOK)
    • Creativity, Action, Service (CAS)

    Excellent grades in EE and TOK can award a maximum of 3 bonus points to students and help them achieve the highest possible score in IB, the "legendary" 45 points.

    Call Now